Sourdough Banana Bread

This is my all time favorite recipe for banana bread. Ever since the first time I made banana bread it has become a staple in our house. I’m usually whipping up a loaf or batch of muffins one to two times a week. My family just loves banana bread so much! Originally I didn’t make it with sourdough but I have since adapted my recipe and I think it tastes way better this way. This recipe will yield one 9 inch loaf pan or about 18 regular muffins.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter, room temp

3/4 cup cane sugar

4 bananas, the riper the better

1 cup sourdough starter, fed within 12 hours

2 eggs

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp baking soda

3/4 cup flour

1/4 cup flax seed meal

Instructions:

In a stand mixer, start by creaming together the butter and sugar until smooth

Add in the bananas and mix until there are no chunks of bananas left. (unless you like banana chunks, then leave some)

The dark streaks are from extremely ripe bananas, which we all know makes the best bread right?

Next add in the sourdough starter, give it a quick mix to incorporate it.

Look at all those bubbles ❤️

Now do the same with the eggs. Mix the eggs until just incorporated.

See the streaks of egg? Perfect.

Now the dry ingredients. Into the mixer add in the salt, cinnamon, baking soda, flour and flax seed meal. Mix until incorporated, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed.

No point in pre-mixing the dry ingredients together- don’t worry it’ll turn out great!

Lastly, you can add any nuts, chocolate chips, dried fruits- whatever else you like in your banana bread.

We added chopped walnuts & dark chocolate chips

Bake at 350° for 25 minutes, or until a knife comes out clean.

I love using my reusable muffin liners!
Delicious right?

Let the muffins cool for just a couple moments then enjoy the yummy goodness!

These girls ❤️ mommas muffins

Author: caseywanless

Hi I’m Casey. I am a Army wife of 7 years and Mom to three beautiful girls. Currently living in central Illinois I enjoy spending time outdoors as well as plenty of time creating things in the kitchen.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started